top of page
Announcements & Events

Congratulations to us! 

 2020 - 2022

Some of our board members:

Bottom row from left - Silvana Berardo (President),

Cathy Vignale (Past President)

Top row from left - Marcella Clatworthy, Marisa Fusaro,

Phyllis Pizzolato (Past President), Anna Ranieri  


2023 ITANJ Borse di Studio Winners

We are proud to  announce the two winners and thank all the excellent candidates who applied. Each winner was awarded $1,000.00 to further their studies. Congratulations to the winners and their teachers!

Per Studenti Universitari 

Andrea Potesta-Oliva, Rutgers University, Dr. Andrea Baldi

Per Studenti di Liceo

Anthony Martino, Don Bosco Prep, Dr. Karen McSherry

View Photo Gallery


Italian Language & Culture Day Competition 2023

Thank you to our committee members, our hosts at Rutgers, our judges and all the students and teachers who participated. The event was a great success! Congratulations to the winning students and their teachers,

bravi tutti! 

View Photo Gallery

1st Place: Saint Peter's Prep, Jersey City

Teacher: Rosalie Romano

Title: La bellezza e`tricolore

2nd place: Ridge H.S., Basking Ridge

Teacher: Fiorella Bologno

Title: La bellezza delle citta` bianche 

3rd place: Holmdel H.S., Holmdel

Teacher: Elizabeth Malolepszy

Title: L'Intervista con gli studenti americani


Middle School Level

1st place: Manalapan-Englishtown M.S.

Teacher: Linda Schiano

Title: La bellezza e` la gentilezza

2nd place: Central M.S., Parsippany

Teachers: Marisa Gillespie & Alessia Ricciulli

Title: Il bel paese

3rd place: Brooklawn M.S., Parsippany

Teacher: Margherita Coscia

Title: La bellezza e` dappertutto

Calling all Teachers of Italian, K-12 Levels:
Announcing the 2023 Coccia-Inserra Teaching Award Application Deadline to apply July 31, 2023 by 11:59 PM

2022 ITANJ Senior Essay Contest Winners 


1st place ($250)  Wayne Johnson, Red Bank RHS  

Federica Proietti Cesaretti, Teacher

2nd place ($100) Samantha Larsen, Ridge HS  

Fiorella Bologno, Teacher

3rd place ($50) - Giada Fichera, Garfield HS

Enrica Gillikin, Teacher 

There were a total of 15 participants from eight schools. Thank you to everyone who participated and congratulations to our winners and their teachers!

bottom of page